THE MINUTES OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY

Associate Reformed Presbyterian Churches in Canada, Associate Reformed Presbyterian Synod

Special Called Meeting

June 6, 2012 Bonclarken Flat Rock, North Carolina





Mr. Bill McKay Stated Clerk Mr. Kevin Bigney Moderator

OFFICERS OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY

MODERATOR Mr. Kevin Bigney

(1 yr. Term expires June 30, 2012) 87 Robinson Rd.,

RR#1 Shubenachadie, NS

BON 2HO

VICE MODERATOR Rev. John Shearouse

(1 yr. Term expires June 30, 2012) 71 Fraser Rd. Timberlea, NS

B3T 1J4

STATED CLERK Mr. Bill McKay

(3 yr. Term expires June 30, 2013) 1124 Tupper Gardens Woodstock, ON, Canada

N4S 8K2

READING CLERK Rev. Jeff Kingswood

(3 yr. Term expires June 30, 2013) 172 Light St.

Woodstock, ON, Canada

N4S 6H4

TREASURER Mr. Gary Armstrong

(3 yr. Term expires June 30, 2013) 7 Kipling Dr.

Woodstock, ON, Canada

N4S 3C8

CHURCHES OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY

MARITIMES REGION

Covenant Reformed Presbyterian Church

Covenanters ARP Church

Grace Fellowship Church, ARPC

Mt. Zion ARP Church

Trinity Presbyterian Church

ONTARIO REGION

Grace Presbyterian Church

Reformed Hungarian Church

Riverside ARP Church

Trinity ARP Church

MINUTES OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY, ASSOCIATE REFORMED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES IN CANADA, ARP GENERAL SYNOD SPECIAL CALLED MEETING – June 6, 2012 Bonclarken

Flat Rock, North Carolina

A Special Called Meeting of the Canadian Presbytery was held on June 6, 2012 during the General Synod of the ARPC. Ten (10) presbyters were in attendance for this meeting of presbytery.

Presbytery Convenes

The Vice-Moderator of the Canadian Presbytery (2011/12), Rev. John Shearouse, called the presbyters to order at 4:05 p.m. and convened the Special Called Meeting of the Canadian Presbytery. Rev. Shearouse constituted the meeting of the Canadian Presbytery as a court of the church of Jesus Christ and Dr. Jack C. Whytock opened with prayer.

Calling of the Roll

The Stated Clerk (Mr. Bill McKay) called the roll of presbyters for this stated meeting. The following members of the presbytery were in attendance.

a) Ministers

Henry Bartsch Jerry Hamstra Jeff Kingswood Brian Murray Stephen Richardson John Shearouse

Bill VanDoodewaard Jack Whytock

b) Roll of Ruling Elders (as delegates to presbytery)

Bill McKay (Grace Presbyterian Church)

Greig Park (Riverside ARPC)

The Stated Clerk declared a quorum was present for this meeting of the presbytery.

Trinity Presbyterian Church (Woodstock, NB)

1. Interim Moderator

The presbytery was informed by the Stated Clerk that Rev. David Els would be preaching his final sermon at Trinity this coming Sunday (June 10, 2012) and then would be leaving for Australia later in the week. An Interim Moderator will need to be appointed.

• <u>Motion:</u> To appoint Rev. Kevin Carter to serve as the Interim Moderator for Trinity Presbyterian Church (Woodstock, NB). <u>M/S/C</u>

Ministerial Credentials Transfer

1. Rev. Dr. Jack C. Whytock

The Stated Clerk announced that the Rev. Dr. Jack C. Whytock has requested the transfer of

his ministerial credentials to the Presbytery of Prince Edward Island (Free Church of Scotland) so that he may take up a teaching position at the Dumisani Theological Institute (King William's Town, South Africa).

<u>Motion:</u> To approve the transfer of the Ministerial Credentials for the Rev. Dr. Jack C.
Whytock to the Presbytery of Prince Edward Island (Free Church of Scotland) pending
their approval of a call to teach at the Dumisani Theological Institute (King William's
Town, South Africa). <u>M/S/C</u>

DATES & LOCATIONS OF FUTURE MEETINGS OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY (D.V.)

September 27-28/12: Covenanters ARPC, Cambridge, NS

April 25-26/13: Trinity ARP Church, Chatham, ON

ADJOURNMENT

At 4:30 p.m., the Canadian Presbytery adjourned.

• Motion: To adjourn the meeting. M/S/C

In closing the meeting, Rev. Henry Bartsch offered prayer for Rev. David Els, Trinity Presbyterian Church, Rev. Kevin Carter and Dr. Jack Whytock.

Respectfully submitted and attested by:

Mr. Bill McKay Stated Clerk Mr. Kevin Bigney Moderator

Past Officers of the Canadian Presbytery

2004-05

Moderator: Rev. Dr. Jack C. Whytock

Vice-moderator: Rev. Rick Barnes

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Henry Brunsveld

2006-07

Moderator: Rev. David Els
Vice-moderator: John Moerman

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Henry Brunsveld/

Gary Armstrong

2008-09

Moderator: Mike Flewelling

Vice-moderator: Rev. Jeff Kingswood

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong

2010-11

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. Frank Z. Kovacs <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. David Els

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong <u>2005-06</u>

Moderator: Ken Turner

<u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Frank Kovacs

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Henry Brunsveld

2007-08

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. John van Eyk <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Brian Murray

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong

2009-10

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. Brian Murray <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Kevin Carter

<u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay Treasurer: Gary Armstrong