# THE MINUTES OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY

Associate Reformed Presbyterian Churches in Canada, Associate Reformed Presbyterian Synod

## **Special Called Meeting**

January 26, 2012 Teleconference Call





Mr. Bill McKay Stated Clerk Mr. Kevin Bigney Moderator

## **OFFICERS OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY**

**MODERATOR** (1 yr. Term expires June 30, 2012)

VICE MODERATOR (1 yr. Term expires June 30, 2012)

**STATED CLERK** (3 yr. Term expires June 30, 2013)

**READING CLERK** (3 yr. Term expires June 30, 2013)

**TREASURER** (3 yr. Term expires June 30, 2013)

Mr. Kevin Bigney 87 Robinson Rd., RR#1 Shubenachadie, NS BON 2HO

Rev. John Shearouse 71 Fraser Rd. Timberlea, NS B3T 1J4

Mr. Bill McKay 1124 Tupper Gardens Woodstock, ON, Canada N4S 8K2

- Rev. Jeff Kingswood 172 Light St. Woodstock, ON, Canada N4S 6H4
- Mr. Gary Armstrong 7 Kipling Dr. Woodstock, ON, Canada N4S 3C8

### **CHURCHES OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY**

#### **MARITIMES REGION**

**Covenant Reformed Presbyterian Church** 

Covenanters ARP Church

Grace Fellowship Church, ARPC

Mt. Zion ARP Church

**Trinity Presbyterian Church** 

### **ONTARIO REGION**

Grace Presbyterian Church Reformed Hungarian Church Riverside ARP Church Trinity ARP Church

## MINUTES OF THE CANADIAN PRESBYTERY, ARPC SPECIAL CALLED MEETING – January 26, 2012

A Special Called Meeting of the Canadian Presbytery was held on January 26, 2012 by teleconference. Seventeen (17) presbyters were in attendance for this meeting of presbytery.

## Presbytery Convenes for Called Teleconference Meeting

At 7:00 p.m. (E.S.T.)/ 8:00 p.m. (A.S.T.), the Vice-Moderator of the Canadian Presbytery, Rev. John Shearouse, called the presbyters to order and convened the Special Called Meeting of the Canadian Presbytery (via teleconference).

### **Calling of the Roll**

The Stated Clerk, Bill McKay called the roll of presbyters for this meeting.

a) <u>Roll Call of ministers present:</u>

Rick Barnes	Henry Bartsch	Kevin Carter
Rudy deVries	Jerry Hamstra	Frank Kovacs
Brian Murray	Steve Richardson	Andrew Savill
John Shearouse	Bill VanDoodewaard	

b) <u>Roll Call of Ruling Elders present (as delegates to presbytery):</u> Albert Gerrits (Covenanters ARPC)

Dave Alexander (Covenant Reformed Presbyterian Church) Mike Flewelling (Trinity Presbyterian, NB) Ken Turner (Grace Presbyterian Church) Greig Park (Riverside ARPC) John Moerman (Trinity ARP Church)

Student Russ Kosits, Treasurer Gary Armstrong and Stated Clerk Bill McKay were present.

Moderator Kevin Bigney, William Campbell, Jeff Kingswood and David Els were absent and excused from the meeting.

Jack Whytock informed the clerk after the meeting that he had difficulties connecting to the conference call and was excused.

The Stated Clerk declared a quorum was present.

Rev. Shearouse constituted the teleconference meeting as a court of the church of Jesus Christ, with a reading of Scripture from Acts 2: 40-47. Rev. Kevin Carter opened the meeting with prayer.

### <u>Minutes</u>

 Motion: To receive the minutes from the 2011 Stated Fall Meeting (October 20-21, 2011) as presented. <u>M/S/C</u>

## <u>Business</u>

- 1) Mt. Zion Provisional Session
  - Motion: To release Mike Flewelling from his duties as a member of the Provisional Session of Mt. Zion ARP. <u>M/S/C</u>
  - Motion: To appoint Kevin Bigney to serve on the Provisional Session of Mt. Zion ARP.
    M/S/C
- 2) Manual of Procedure
  - Motion: To accept the presentation of the proposed changes regarding the structure of Standing Committees to the Canadian Presbytery Manual of Procedure (as approved at the 2011 Stated Fall Meeting), as the First Reading. <u>M/S/C</u>

## 3) Kingston Church Plant

Rev. Henry Bartsch brought 2 motions from Outreach Canada regarding the proposed church plant in Kingston, ON.

- <u>Motion</u>: That Presbytery appoints a sub-committee to give oversight to the Kingston work until such time as a church planter and provisional session is put into place; and further, this sub-committee would provide oversight and direction to the church plant and report to presbytery. <u>M/S/D</u>
- <u>Motion</u>: The Outreach Canada Committee requests \$7,500.00 from the Canadian Church Development Fund to fund various expenses (such as preaching costs, mileage and hymnals) relating to the development of the proposed church plant in Kingston, ON. <u>M/S/</u>
  - <u>Motion</u>: To amend the previous motion to strike the word hymnals from the listed expenses. <u>M/S/C</u>
- <u>Amended Motion</u>: The Outreach Canada Committee requests \$7,500.00 from the Canadian Church Development Fund to fund various expenses (such as preaching costs and mileage) relating to the development of the proposed church plant in Kingston, ON. <u>M/S/C</u>

### **Closing Prayer**

Rev. Rudy deVries offered prayer in the closing of the meeting.

### Adjournment (8:10 p.m. EST/9:10 AST)

• Motion: To adjourn the meeting. M/S/C

Respectfully submitted by:

Attest:

Bill McKay Stated Clerk Rev. John Shearouse Vice-Moderator

## Past Officers of the Canadian Presbytery

#### <u>2004-05</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. Dr. Jack C. Whytock <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Rick Barnes <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Henry Brunsveld

#### <u>2007-08</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. John van Eyk <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Brian Murray <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong

#### <u>2010-11</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. Frank Kovacs <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. David Els <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong

#### <u>2005-06</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Ken Turner <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Frank Kovacs <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Henry Brunsveld

#### <u>2008-09</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Mike Flewelling <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Jeff Kingswood <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong

#### <u>2006-07</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. David Els <u>Vice-moderator:</u> John Moerman <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Henry Brunsveld/ Gary Armstrong

#### <u>2009-10</u>

<u>Moderator:</u> Rev. Brian Murray <u>Vice-moderator:</u> Rev. Kevin Carter <u>Stated Clerk:</u> Bill McKay <u>Treasurer:</u> Gary Armstrong